“The Visual Archive” brings datasets to life

In many institutions, valuable information or cultural assets are hidden in databases. “The Visual Archive” reveals this information in a meaningful way and makes it easy to discover profound hidden knowledge.

“Forgotten Heritage” is the recent implementation of this technology, a joint project of several art archives supported by Creative Europe. About 8,000 entries were brought together and made tangible in their context. Visitors can immerse themselves in the world of avant-garde artists from Poland, Estonia, Croatia, France and Belgium, who were active in the second half of the 20th century. The sophisticated design opens up a fascinating network of works, artists and places of action.

The software, which was originally optimized for a touchscreen table has been completely re-developed from scratch to include direct web usage on any PC or mobile device. And the range of functionality will continue to grow.

  • Interactive presentation of comprehensive archives, making them intuitively accessible and useful
  • Representation of relations in different contexts: time and location data (for example, of art objects, clients and institutions) are illustrated comprehensibly
  • Elegant responsive user interface enables usage on a wide range of devices from desktop computers to smartphones, tablets and large touch screens

›The Visual Archive‹ macht Datenbestände lebendig.

In vielen Institutionen schlummern wertvolle Informationen oder Kulturgüter unsichtbar in Datenbanken. ›The Visual Archive‹ ermöglicht es, diese Informationen sinnvoll zusammenzuführen und verborgenes Wissen zu entdecken.

Aktuell implementiert wurde die Technologie bei ›Forgotten Heritage‹, ein von Creative Europe gefördertes Gemeinschaftsprojekt von mehreren Kunstarchiven. Etwa 8.000 Einträge wurden hier zusammengeführt und in ihren Zusammenhängen begreifbar gemacht. Interessierte können in die Welt von Avantgarde-Künstlern aus Polen, Estland, Kroatien, Frankreich und Belgien eintauchen, die in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts gewirkt haben. Dem Betrachter eröffnet sich ein anspruchsvoll gestaltetes faszinierendes Netz aus Werken, Künstlern und Wirkungsorten.

Die ursprünglich für Touchscreen-Tische optimierte Software wurde von Grund auf neu programmiert: Für die Anwendung direkt im Web auf jedem Computer, Tablet oder Smartphone. Und der Funktionsumfang wird weiter wachsen.

  • Interaktive Präsentation umfassender ­Archivbestände, die automatisch ausgelesen und so intuitiv zugänglich und sinnvoll nutzbar werden
  • Anschauliche Darstellung von Zusammenhängen zwischen Personen, Objekten und Institutionen in unterschiedlichen örtlichen und zeitlichen Kontexten
  • Elegante responsive Benutzerober­fläche und ­intuitives Interfacedesign ermöglichen die Nutzung auf Desktop-Computern, Smartphones, Tablets und sogar großen Touchscreens.